What’s new?

I haven’t really been doing much over the past month or so.

This was going to be my first sentence. I’d be wrong, as I’ve done quite a bit recently, but as I can’t think of a more suitable first sentence that one is staying.

A few bits:

  • been to a few Aussie Rules Footy and rugby games
  • watched Celtic play with a hoard of Irish and Scots (although that’s not surprising as there is quite probably more Irish people in Sydney/Australia than there is in Ireland)
  • been to see Elbow and Gomez
  • viewed more apartments and houses than I care to count
  • moved house (and now looking to move again)
  • booked a trip to Alice Springs & Uluru (I go in 2 weeks) with a girl I’ve only met once, for less than 24 hours…and not seen for 7 months…
  • winter days being just as hot as an English summer
  • laughed at colleagues wrapped up like they are going on an Arctic expedition when it’s 18 degrees outside
  • started swimming lessons
  • been chatted up by a bloke who looked like an 18th century French mime (complete with twirly moustache). Twice.
  • Put my tourist hat on again and went whale watching
  • Salsa dancing (I have the dancing skills of a weird drunken uncle at a wedding)
  • Sang karaoke for the first time ever (I have the singing skills of a tone-deaf weird drunken uncle at a wedding)
  • Shouted at by a shoe shop assistant – I’d apparently been wearing the wrong size shoes for the past year. Still not sure why he was so angry at me.

But in the main I have just been working and trying to save as much as I can. Work  extended my contract for another 3 months (which would take me to the maximum time allowed to work with 1 employer on my visa – 6 months max). This will take me towards the end of October.

My 2 immediate bosses want me to stay and I’d love to stay, so I asked if they’d sponsor me – the only way I’d get to stay in Australia longer.

As with a few other meetings I had separately with immigration agents, they think any application would be ‘borderline’. I’ve since had a couple of meetings with HR and had to submit them a re-jigged CV to fit the job spec. a bit better, and given them copies of all my certificates. HR people aren’t convinced at the minute a sponsorship application for the job role, would get through immigration. But at least they’re looking into it and speaking to whoever they need to speak to.

One of my bosses admitted that it’s gone a lot further down the line than they thought it would get, so we’ll see. I expect to find out in the next week if the company will do it *crosses fingers and toes.

If they don’t go for it, then at least I should have some money to do some travelling again before having to head back to England – although I’m trying not to think about that.

7 thoughts on “What’s new?

  1. started swimming lessons
    &
    and HR copies of all my certificates.

    You had better hurry up and get that 1 length swimming certificate, you know what Aussies are like about swimming. There’s no chance of an extended work Visa if you don’t… If Monty Python did the Aussie sketch now it would be revived to

    1. No poofters non swimmers
    2. No member of the faculty is to maltreat the “Abos” in any way whatsoever—if there’s anyone watching.
    3. No poofters non swimmers
    4. I don’t want to catch anyone not drinking in their room after lights out.
    5. No poofters non swimmers
    6. There is no… rule six.
    7. No poofters non swimmers
    If you don’t believe me, think it through

    You have been chatted up by a bloke who looked like an 18th century French mime (complete with twirly moustache). Twice.

    And

    Been Shouted at by a shoe shop assistant – I’d apparently been wearing the wrong size shoes for the past year. Still not sure why he was so angry at me.

    • BlackLOG
      I’ve never been at one with water….I remember being the last person in my class at school to actually get a 1 length certificate when I was about 10! My swimming ‘style’ was today described as ‘you look like your having a death spasm in the water’ by the instructor. That was 5 mins after telling me I was doing brilliantly. Build ’em up, kick ’em down.

      I suppose the death spasm could also translate into the Ministry of Silly Swims. I’ll be going for my own special Death Spasm Freestyle next year at the Olympics.

      You might be onto something BlackLOG….this time next year Rodney…

  2. I’ve never been at one with water….I remember being the last person in my class at school to actually get a 1 length certificate when I was about 10!
    I swam a mile at 9, mainly because I got my budgie smugglers caught in a speed boat….

    My swimming ‘style’ was today described as ‘you look like your having a death spasm in the water’ by the instructor. That was 5 mins after telling me I was doing brilliantly. Build ‘em up, kick ‘em down.
    At least it wasn’t Build ‘em up, hold you under…or possibly down under.

    I suppose the death spasm could also translate into the Ministry of Silly Swims. I’ll be going for my own special Death Spasm Freestyle next year at the Olympics.
    I think Death Spasm Freestyle is already an event in the special Olympics

    You might be onto something BlackLOG….this time next year Rodney…
    But my name is Dave? You Plonker –

  3. I thought you had been eaten by dingos or a big shark had got you since it has been so long from your last post. Glad to see you are still in Oz and good luck with the sponsorship. 🙂

    • Michelle
      Nah, I just lost what minimal blogging mojo I had and took a few steps back for a while. Still can’t really be bothered, I think I’ve run my course with it, but we’ll see…
      Thanks for the luck 🙂

  4. Thanks for the update.
    I hope your immigration sponsorship thing is still in the loop.
    Don’t forget to go to King’s Canyon and the Olga’s when you go to Uluru … and bring warm clothes. I was there in early July 2007 and it went below zero celcius when the sun set: I think they reported snow on Uluru a few days later.
    It sounds like you are doing fine.

Leave a Reply

