Tom & Jerry’s Orchestral Movements in the Mind

As I was walking up towards the Opera House for my first ever introduction to a live orchestra playing classical music – dodging the tourists and their cameras (although depending how bored I am, if I’m around there, I’ve now started  ‘accidently’ wandering into people’s pictures…just to amuse my tiny mind), I knew it wasn’t really my cup of tea.  All the arty farty types, with 3 hair cuts on top of their head with spikes or quiffs going in all directions but ‘normal’, and people who looked a bit posh (they got labelled posh if they were dressed up to the nines…or men in cream/beige trousers and deck shoes…actually, it was just anyone who’d made a bit of an effort) and people who looked like they knew their E majors from their E minors and their Bach’s from their Beethoven’s…

…and then me, a bit of a rough sort from North West England.  If it was sunny I would’ve been wearing shorts and flip-flops (but alas, it was pissing down) so it was a jeans and trainers ensemble.

Unfortunately they didn’t play Ride of the Valkyries or anything else I recognised from a film.  But some of the stuff was quite good.  The rest of it sounded like I’d heard it all before whilst watching Tom & Jerry cartoons:  You know the kind…the flute/woodwind would kick in as Jerry creeps up on Tom, Jerry would drop something heavy on his toe and the cymbals would crash together…then the piano starts playing as he runs away.  I think I watched about 4/5 cartoons altogether.

They did have one stand out moment though and it had nothing to do with the music.  That girl who won Ukraine’s Got Talent or whatever it was – the sand artist – was there and done some sand art to the music, which was amazing.

Other than that, it was kind of wasted on me.  There were a couple of people really  appreciating it in front of me.  Yet the only thing I thought was that I’d rather be in a heaving sweaty crowd somewhere watching The Prodidgy pummel my chest with some heavy bass – the kind of bass that makes your chest vibrate. (Smack My Bitch Up orchestral style, would be interesting).

I’ll give it another go at some point I’m sure, it wasn’t THAT bad…I’m just not ready to be cultured. Obviously.

Oh, and a special mention goes to the guy sat next to me, in row T seat 30, who had BO.

8 thoughts on “Tom & Jerry’s Orchestral Movements in the Mind

  1. Sometimes I think my eyebrows are too lowbrow to appreciate highbrow stuff.
    Other times I get a feeling that I could understand what people like about something, if I wasn’t overstanding it so much.

  2. You should’a thrown a pint and got things started!

    I’ve got to tell Husband he’s posh ’cause he wears beige trousers and deck shoes! Who knew?

    The BO bloke probably forgot to get his sport jacket cleaned.

    • Maxxy
      I can’t see myself going back any time soon (unless they were playing “Classical Music from Movies in the 80s and 90s)!

      BlackLOG
      Now you mention it, she was caked in make up…even I could see the stubble from where I was sitting. Maybe I should’ve paid more attention to the wobble board that was next to her/him/it.

  3. I’m surprised at you cynical –
    They did have one stand out moment though and it had nothing to do with the music. That girl who won Ukraine’s Got Talent or whatever it was – the sand artist – was there and done some sand art to the music, which was amazing.
    It’s just Rolf Harris after a shave and breast implants….It’s the only way they would let him back into Australia

Leave a Reply

