Contemplation

When I was about 8 I wanted to be a policeman.  That was until I got until my teenage years and realised the majority of police are arrogant tossers.

When I was 10-14 I wanted to be a footballer.  I was ‘alright’ at football, but just never quite good enough…my boots are long hung up, but I can still envisage my celebration after scoring a last minute winner in the cup final.

When I was 13-15 I wanted to be a cameraman.  Particularly a cameraman for sport.  The lure of getting to watch all kinds top sporting events for free was the attraction, nothing else.

When I was 16 I wanted to be in a band.  On stage in front of thousands of people who hung off my every word, what could be better?

By the time I was 18 I was still rubbish at football; had never used a camera; I couldn’t sing and couldn’t play an instrument (I did attempt to learn the guitar once, but it hurt my wee little fingers).  I also started temporary work in an office.

During my early to mid-twenties I thought I’d have this ‘life’ thing sewn up by the time I was 30.  But by the time I reached 27/28 I realised I wasn’t going down the same path as my friends – I wouldn’t have it ‘sewn-up’.  I was doing what I wanted to do, not what I was supposed to do. 

When I was 29, I was still working for the same company I’d been at since I was 18 – more through laziness than anything else.  I’m not a career person, but it was comfortable, why rock my own boat? 

When I was 30 I’d figured out what I wanted to do and took steps towards achieving it. 

When I’m 31…I’m still an over-analytical cynical git; people make it complicated sometimes.  On the whole though…it’s a whole lot of simpleness.

15 thoughts on “Contemplation

  1. I justed wanted to jump on a table singing “Rockin’ Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution” by AC/DC for a living … or a towel boy at a stripper club, but life and reality intervened for some reason.

    I guess you don’t know what you are until you stop being it …sadly. (holding a scythe and wearing a hoodie) hee hee!

  2. Brennig
    Even at the time I realised Policeman was more achievable than astronaut!

    Darfuria
    Nah, just too much thinking! You’re nearly 3 months late on the birthday wishes…but thanks anyway 😀

    Stephanie of Stopbouncing
    To be sure, to be sure, yep!

    S. Le
    I know! I’ve been out of sorts lately, it’s been an odd couple of weeks. Normal service will be resumed shortly..

    planetross
    Where can I get a cheap scythe? 😀

  3. I’m another one that wanted to be a Policeman when I was child. What’s that all about…. this turned into a drift into office work. I’m currently watching the England Algeria game and want to be anything but English….

    • BlackLOG
      Being a policeman looked to be ok on The Bill, not so good in real life!

      Although I’ve spent a fortune following football, I’m not bothered how the England football team get on. Club football always comes before the national team 😀 Although it’s rather funny/stupid to see the media circus which goes with Ingurland…

  4. See, I’m a wee 23yr old, and I’m one of the youngest on my teaching course. There are so many people twice my age that have decided on a completely different career path and just gone for it. It makes me wonder how long I’ll be teaching for… it seems like the right thing now, but I get bored easily!

    So well done you for doing what you want, when you want to. What’s next???

  5. Maybe you should have become a footballer – you couldn’t have been any worse than the England team at the moment! I’m actually embarrassed to be English right now – partly because I’m the only English person around here and now have to listen to comments from the Germans. Aargh!

  6. roseski
    I also get bored easily…I have the attention span of a 4 year old.
    Next…short term – Glastonbury Festival next week, ha! Long term…I’m still forging ahead with my plans to go to Australia so that’s the biggy, just see what happens after that 🙂

    bevchen
    If only I had a footballers wages, that’s all I’d need! The Germans aren’t playing too clever themselves…give them stick too 😀

    dazedlittlemiss
    England are proper dismal, it’s quite funny!

    Yep, I remember someone told me that years ago, it’s always stuck in my head since.

  7. i’m 24 and have started to learn the guitar. The numbness in the ends of my left hand make me feel proud every day, as does the fact that my right hand has nails, and my left doesn’t 🙂 Live the dream, whatever that is or can be for you right now – so the fuck what if you’re not windsurfing on the other side of the world – you don’t think they have troubles too? You do what you want to do because otherwise you’d be doing something else. You take yourself there dude.

    Well aren’t I prolific tonight! xxx

Leave a Reply

