Lending people money

A few years ago, to help someone out, I set up a direct debit for them which they would repay me each month.

For the first few months all was hunky dory, until they started missing odd payments.  Then a few months down the line, the inevitable set in and in the end there was no sign of any repayments coming in at all.  I, however, kept up the repayments because otherwise I’d get that big black mark against my name.

At the time, I barely earned enough for myself, and with this extra debit I ended up in quite a lot of debt.  Subsequently they ended up owing me a lot of money.

It’s all since been sorted out: the debt was cleared years ago (although I’m probably still paying interest back on my credit card for using it when I normally wouldn’t have needed to).

I’d learnt my lesson though, and I told myself I’d never put myself in that situation again.

Loaning money from people has always been something I’ve avoided too.  I’m too proud a person to even ask anyone for money – if I haven’t got it, I go without.

Fast forward to today and here I am wondering why I’ve been naive/stupid enough to loan quite a lot of money again to the same person.

If I can, I’ll always help them out (or anyone for that matter).  But what annoys me more than anything is the false promises of getting it back: “I’ll give you x amount back on Thursday”.  When x amount doesn’t show up, or any offer of an explanation why…it’s a bit of a piss-take.  If I won’t get it back for 2 months, rather than 3 days later, just tell me it’ll be 2 months.  At least I know.

Normally I wouldn’t be too bothered, but between lending them money – not getting anything back as promised  – and some bad mathematics/budget skills by me, I’ve now left myself very short changed this month (it didn’t take me 3 attempts to pass my maths GCSE exam for nothing) with over a week until payday.

Saying I’m pissed off right now would be an understatement.

Similar to the ‘Knights Who Say Ni’.  I’m declaring myself: ‘The Gimp Who Always Says “Yes, Ok”’.  I’m sure I’ve either got ‘Mug’ or ‘Too Nice’ plastered on my fod!

“’Tis but a scratch’

‘A scratch?! Your arm’s off!’

‘No, it isn’t.’”

NB: I’m not sure how I squeezed Monty Python into that post either.

9 thoughts on “Lending people money

  1. I used to lend money to a friend on a Saturday night and when he didn’t repay, I’d ask him for it. He used to pull the old “Didn’t I pay you back already?” line on me.
    I always hated that bullshit.

  2. planetross
    Have to agree. My concious would never allow me to do something like that!

    Stephanie of Stopbouncing
    I have sent for mail order ninjas 😀

    S. Le
    I’ll be rewarded somewhere down the line 😀

  3. I think more people should be forced to squeeze Monty Python quotes into their blogs, it can make up for the lack of humour that some of them have*. I managed to parody the whole of the Parrot sketch after I purchased a rubbish radio from Halfords. It was probably the funniest thing I have ever stolen borrowed. I still live in fear that John Cleaves will come around and kick my head in for ruining a classic….

    P.S. Can I borrow £1,000…..I will promise to pay it back at a very reasonable £1 a year… Oh you want a sob story…

    Let’s think…..

    I’m struggling to pay to fill my Ferrari and desperately need it to pop over to Italy to pick up some fresh Spaghetti

    Please send soon……

    * Please note I do not include the scribble in that number…..

Leave a Reply

