Concerts and weekend stuff

Well that was a long weekend.  I’m only just beginning to rejoin the land of the living.  I must be getting too old for this enjoying yourself lark.

Friday I went to see Alabama 3 (they sing The Sopranos theme tune fact fans).  I’ve seen them a few times before and they were alright, not really my cup of tea though.  Going to see them was more of an excuse to have a night out in Leeds with some mates though.  A very good night was had by all too, I finally fell asleep (in a chair) about 7.30am.  Dead was not the word to describe me.

Saturday I suffered for it though, especially after only having about 3 hours sleep, so I gave myself a night off in preparation for Sunday.

Sunday I went to see the Prodigy.  Whatever I say about it will not do it justice.  Unrelenting from start to finish, it was just immense.   I may have to revisit my Top Gigs Attended post and put this one up there somewhere.  They finished with Out Of Space with Keith (mad spikey hair one) at the back of the room on the sound desk barriers.  Fuck knows how he got there through the sea of people.  As everyone started to leave, over the speakers they started playing ‘Can’t Take My Eyes Off You’.  All I could see was a mass of sweaty bodies, still jumping up and down singing ‘I love you baby!’.  Needless to say, with us all being off work, we didn’t need much excuse to turn that night into another late one and I got to bed about 6am.  Oops.

I failed in my attempts to get Kings of Leon tickets on Monday though.  £150 for 1 standing ticket was the cheapest I could find by the arena – they were like gold dust.  There really would’ve had to have been some Sex on Fire to see them at that price.  Thankfully I’ve seen them a few times in the past 12 months; so we sensibly aborted to the pub. 

Yesterday I spent curled up in a ball on the couch.  I got asked if I wanted to go out to another gig last night too but, for me, gigs mean alcohol.  I think I might’ve actually cried real tears if another sip of alcohol touched my mouth yesterday, so I turned that down. 

I’d planned 3 gigs in 4 days but I didn’t take into account the copious amounts of alcohol I was going to consume or the price of tickets.  As Meatloaf once said, ‘two out of three ain’t bad.’ 

How cheesy a post ending is that? 

*bows*

*exits stage left

3 thoughts on “Concerts and weekend stuff

  1. Pingback: Do Gig dot com » Blog Archive » bConcerts/b and weekend stuff « Cynical Scribble

Leave a Reply

