Dumbed down TV

I don’t watch that much TV, but one thing I’m finding with the stuff I do watch is that TV programmes seem to be catering for stupid people more than ever before. 

There is the odd gem of a programme in amongst the crap, but some of the latest documentaries/shows piss me off.  As enlightening as some of them can be, they seem to spend 5 minutes telling you something, but then they cut to a voice over who summarises what we have just been told 30 seconds before. 

Cynical Scribble doesn’t watch that much TV, but he’s wondering why there are so many summary segments on TV shows.

If the programme is an hour long these summary bits can add up to quite a bit of air-time.  Why not use it more effectively to go a bit more in depth, show us another angle of the story, show another subject.   Just. Show. Something. Different.  We are not all brain dead morons who are scared to be mentally challenged.   There also seems be more more advert breaks than ever before – which introduces the ‘need’ to recap the story. 

He asks, are we all mentally challenged.  There are too many summary segment on TV and the light box in the corner is conspiring to turn us all into brain dead morons.

Are people really that stupid that they cannot remember what they have just been told?  Do they purposely aim tv programmes at mentally challenged people?  I suspect the answer to that is yes considering the amount of ‘reality’ shows we get subjected to nowadays.  TV shows for mentally challenged people should continue to be restricted to weekday daytime telly.

Cynical Scribble wonders why there are so many summary segments on TV shows.  He ponders if TV shows are aimed at mentally challenged people and decides TV is slowing turning us into brain dead morons.  Frustrated with the number of recaps, he wonders why they just can’t make their final point or go more in-depth on a subject.  Frustrated at all the recaps or can you remember what you’ve been told for longer than 5 seconds.  He thinks the number of ‘reality’ shows help confirm this view.

I don’t expect 3 hour shows of University Challenge, but why don’t they have some faith that at least a good proportion of the audience are capable of not being distracted like a baby with a set of keys. 

Something about summaries in TV shows.  Mentalists.  Zombies.  Mobile phone. Texting. Reality shows. Tea.  All day University Challenge.  What blog am I reading next.  Dancing on Ice in the Jungle.  Tv Guide.  Mass fight to the death.  Text.  Something about babies keys.  Peekie-boo.

Producer:  “Roll Credits”

 

**************

(As an aside, whilst I’m on the subject of TV, Band of Brothers is currently being shown on BBC2 in the UK.  If you’ve never seen it, watch it, buy the DVD’s or download it.  One of the best series ever made – all based on true events during WWII.  The box-set gets an airing from me at least once a year). 

11 thoughts on “Dumbed down TV

  1. Agree re: Band of Brothers. Absolutely brilliant series.

    And yes…I too get frustrated with documentaries which repeat what you have already been shown and told. Mind numbing.

  2. Speaking of summaries, I think “Cynical Scribble wonders why there are so many summary segments on TV shows. He ponders if TV shows are aimed at mentally challenged people and decides TV is slowing turning us into brain dead morons. Frustrated with the number of recaps, he wonders why they just can’t make their final point or go more in-depth on a subject. Frustrated at all the recaps or can you remember what you’ve been told for longer than 5 seconds. He thinks the number of ‘reality’ shows help confirm this view.”

    Don’t you?

  3. Jo – yay another Band of Brothers fan. I’m yet to hear anyone say a bad word about it.

    S.Le – I don’t know what you mean, don’t I what? If you mean don’t I summerise, the summaries/repeats were put in there on purpose to emphasie my point 🙂

  4. The film makers have probably been on one of those management courses that tell you not just to repeat the major points but hammer them home. Also note that most of these documentaries get people riled up with sensational stories but there is never an answer. They are like the Daily Mail on air, keep away from them before they suck you into the sad world that makes you Mr angry from Surbiton….

    Band of brothers was so good it kind of makes you wish there had been a WWIII

  5. I actually wrote out a paragrapgh about Daily Mail readers for this post but deleted it. Great minds and all that…

    I know what you mean about the Band of Brothers thing. Although I get absolutley terrified playing Call of Duty on the XBox. I’d be in pieces if I actually had to go through it all. They are making a new one too. (I think it’s called Pacific) due out next year I think.

  6. EEEEEkkkkk!!! No No No I didn’t mean that I would have to fight. After all since I came up with the idea of WWIII I thought that I would get a place in the war room away from any actual fighting. If that is not the case I’m taking my war and going back home…..

    I hope you are correct about BofB in the pacific. I heard rumours when BofB was first aired but nothing ever came of it…..

  7. No point having brains if they are splattered all over your friends.

    Besides they would only end up fighting amongst themselves saying that they got less of a share of my gray matter than the others….

    Plus they would send the dry cleaning bills to Mrs B…..

    Tight gits……

Leave a Reply

